Haunted Mansion Holiday

I had the pleasure of taking a long weekend to visit Disneyland in late October, partially to stay at the Grand Californian (nice, though not a great value), partially to see the new A Bug’s Land play area (very well done), but mainly to see the Haunted Mansion Holiday makeover that I unfortunately missed last year.

Walking through New Orleans Square early that Saturday morning, I felt a sense of terror, dread, foreboding…but not because I’m scared of ghosts. Haunted Mansion is a classic, after all—one of my very favorite attractions—and this seemed like an excellent opportunity to screw it all up. So many things could go wrong: how would Disney’s ghouls match up with Tim Burton’s undead? Sure, they’re both “scary” in an un-scary sort of way, but aside from that, they seem to hail from completely different universes. I could visualize a handful of cheap plywood cutouts of Nightmare figures nailed up, blocking the view of the ballroom, graveyard, etc., positioned in just such a way to obscure the classic scenes behind. So imagine my surprise when I tell you that Haunted Mansion Holiday is excellent. So good, in fact, that I’m not even sure I want them to bring the original Haunted Mansion back.

There is a fair amount of plywood in the new attraction, actually, but I have to compliment Disney on how it handled this: it never looks cheap. And as a bonus, there’s much more “dimensional” work than I would have expected, most dramatically, the curlicue mountaintop that towers over the graveyard sequence. The Jack Skellington Audio-Animatronic figure moves much more impressively than the figure it substitutes for. And the additions are anything but tight-fisted: every room in the attraction is liberally covered with Nightmare figures and artifacts. You’ll clearly recognize this as the same attraction you’re familiar with, but very little is unchanged. There are even standout effects, too: the replacement of the graveyard’s singing busts with…well, instead of giving it away, let’s just say it’s a much more arresting effect than the singing busts ever were. Some Mansion fanatics might be disappointed that the regular Mansion scenes and figures are so de-emphasized, but I think the designers made the right choice. Going “half-way” would have produced the least satisfactory result. A stingy application of Nightmare characters to two or three rooms in the Mansion would have managed to infuriate both the Nightmare fans that wanted to see more, and the Mansion fans whose attraction had now been corrupted.

I walked out of the Haunted Mansion with a big smile on my face, and that hadn’t happened in a long time. Haunted Mansion Holiday’s designers knew exactly what they were trying to show us—one of the more charming aspects of the film, namely, the Nightmare spooks’ complete inability to comprehend Christmas—and as great as the original Haunted Mansion is, its designers never quite figured this out. The original never commits itself to being either funny or scary, and ends up not totally delivering on either count. In fact, a similar problem inhabits many of the classic Disney attractions created in the ’50s—’60s era. So many veer back and forth between painstaking realism and corny humor. They fail to set a consistent tone.

I especially noticed this while riding Pirates of the Caribbean later that same morning. Incredible pains were obviously taken by the original designers to make the swamp-like boarding area realistic. As much as is possible in a theme park, the whole thing is impressively subtle. (A shooting star does pass overhead with astonishing regularity—perhaps every thirty seconds or so—but in general, it’s fairly restrained.) The next scene in the grotto shows a couple of realistically detailed rotting skeletons with pickaxes and shovels, pirates who failed in their search for buried treasure. This is cool: something straight out of the Treasure Island universe that Disney’s pirates hail from. It’s realistic, at least in the context of the movie-ish world the ride has placed us in, and it’s a little scary.

Next is something confusing: another skeleton standing on the deck of a wrecked ship, turning the ship’s wheel in a torrent of simulated rain. I always thought they should have had the skeleton’s hands lashed to the wheel so that there would be some excuse for why a skeleton would be piloting a ship. But no…I kind of feel like we’re supposed to think that we’re seeing a skeleton consciously piloting a crashed ship. Why is this skeleton alive when the previous ones were so obviously dead…like they’re supposed to be? The realism of the initial scenes starts to dissipate.

The ride then shifts tone, from moody creepiness to outright gags. In the next scene we see more “living” skeletons, one of them swilling grog. (It’s a neat effect, but exactly how is that supposed to be happening?) A haunted harpsichord plays itself. A comically carved wooden sign reads “Thar Be No Place Like Home.”

If the rest of the ride maintained the corny tone, it might have been fine. But it doesn’t: the scenes for the remainder of the ride jump back to the realism we saw in the beginning. Pirates of the Caribbean is about mood and atmosphere, and when a jokey sign pops up saying “Stow Yer Weapons,” the ride makes painfully clear to me that it is artifice. I knew that, to be sure, but for a while I’d forgotten.

The “classic” Haunted Mansion has some of the same faults, though they are less severe than the ones in Pirates. After a trip through a creepy hallway with doors bulging, presumably holding back the scariest ghouls you could imagine, another sign—this one reads “Tomb Sweet Tomb”—takes you right out of the scary universe and into a cartoon. Fans might claim that this is part of a deliberate effort to tone the ride down, and it probably is; the designers wanted to make you laugh in-between the scary stuff to lessen the intensity of the ride. That sounds plausible enough (though I’m not sure that a needlepoint reading “Tomb Sweet Tomb” truly qualifies as funny), but for me it’s distracting and lessens the experience. TIME Magazine film critic Richard Schickel observed the same thing in his 1968 book The Disney Version:

What is frustrating about [Disneyland] is that it is not better than it is, that just when something has about captured you, caused you willingly to suspend disbelief, the “imagineers” rudely nudge you awake and whisper, “Just kidding, folks.” On the submarine ride, for example, all is going reasonably realistically, when the ship suddenly glides past a mermaid and the trip is spoiled by the intrusion of this obviously fictional creature…Another example: there is a train ride…that takes you past extremely artful dioramas, showing various geological ages. When the age of the dinosaurs is reached, there are excellent moving models of the great creatures, far more artfully done than any you are likely to encounter in a museum. But then you notice the baby tyrannosaurus [sic] represented as just breaking out of their eggs, and, wonder of wonders, they are cuddly and adorable. The dear round bottom of one is wiggling comically as he shakes off his shell. The message, apparently, is that cuteness existed as an ideal in nature long before man appeared.

Disney tends to resist going for the easy laughs in its more recent attractions: rides like Tower of Terror and Indiana Jones are completely consistent from queue to exit, never once wavering from their sober tone. And by “sober,” I don’t mean boring, or overtly serious. These rides aren’t boring, nor do they take themselves too seriously. They’re fun—obviously giant-sized toys—but they’re seeking to tell a single story and create a single emotion.

Despite the issues I’ve raised, I love both Pirates and Haunted Mansion. So why should I bother criticizing them? Maybe Disney will notice and take the opportunity to smooth out the experiences during their much-anticipated re-works for Disneyland’s 50th Anniversary. Unlikely, though. I guess what I’m saying is that I’m surprised you could paste over a classic attraction with plywood and a new soundtrack, do it at a fraction of what the attraction originally cost (in real dollars, at least), and make it a more satisfying experience. I hope the folks at Disney are surprised, too, because I know that next time I ride the classic Haunted Mansion it’ll be hard not to think of Jack Skellington.

Note: This Disney article first appeared on LaughingPlace.com, where I’m a semi-regular columnist.
2 thoughts on “Haunted Mansion Holiday

  1. Wow. Nicely done. I’m a HUGE Mansion/Pirates fan (which is why I HATED the films) and though I love them both, I couldn’t agree with you more. I have been harboring a growing love/hate relationship with Disney and Disneyland for the past fifteen years (pre-Eisner’s oust) and often have my love for the rides – more specifically for the Mansion & Pirates – somehow further tarnished a little bit each time, every single time I go there – by the incessant bad planning and moronic retrofitting of the rides (don’t even get me started on the whole Jack Sparrow on POC-thing). You have successfully, succinctly and articulately echoed, albeit in a much less vitriolic way than I would have, my sentiments exactly. (BTW – I loved the Haunted Mansion Holiday as well)

    I will be visiting this blog with great regularity from now on. Thanks for doing it.

  2. Wow, are you kidding?

    I really dislike the changes made to The Haunted Mansion (which I will refer to as “THM” throughout this comment).

    I was just there a few days ago; however, in the past, since I lived in Anaheim, I used to go more than once a year. I noticed, first of all, that the lighting is much brighter. I read somewhere that somebody complained about the dark atmosphere because they might “fall down” — so, thanks for ruining it for everybody else!! Now when you get on the cars in the loading area, it doesn’t have the same creepy feeling. Also, I noticed that April/December is gone, and a picture of Gracey that morphs is up there (I don’t recall this portrait ever existed in THM before?) I also noticed that they changed the morphing of the “Panther Lady.” Now she morphs into a sort of lioness. I don’t think these are good changes, and I’m sure some of these changes were done due to politically-correct notions. I thought that the Panther Lady was much more spooky. I wonder if they changed her because her skin colour turned too dark or something? Who knows what ridiculous reason was used to justify these absurd changes. I also did not like the new Bride sequence. I guess again, they thought the “jilted bride” was outdated, but to me, this is classic Gothic atmospherics. Changing the bride to a psychotic killer is trying to appease to the crowds who are used to slasher films and the like. This isn’t spooky Gothic horror in the traditional THM sense. I also did not like that Leona is spinning about in the air. Why? What could possibly be the reason for having to do this, so that everyone doesn’t miss seeing her? I don’t get it. There are other changes I might mention, but these are the main ones that bothered me. Also, I do not like The Nightmare Before Christmas and I wish they’d get rid of it. I hate the store too. Everytime I want to buy some real THM merchandise, all they have is crappy Tim Burton toys and shirts. And of course, most people succumb to this and buy the stuff without thinking. For some reason, I also thought that the ride was much shorter this time, and I usually go at least once a year, so maybe there is something up with that?

Leave a Reply

