Tilt

Big documentary-related news this past week:

  • The Future of Pinball has a new title. I’d grown pretty attached to the old one, but time after time it was proven to me that 1) it appealed most to die-hard pinball fans, and I was hoping for a bigger audience; 2) the irony of the title was completely lost on those who hadn’t seen the film or trailer. So after an intensive search that involved canvassing the opinion of nearly everyone I know, consulting with my distributor in L.A. (the people charged with selling the film to TV), the title we came up with is…TILT: The Battle to Save Pinball. (It took me a while to get used to it. But now I like it, and hopefully others will, too. It definitely appeals to a wider spectrum of people, which when you think about it is really what a title is supposed to do.)
  • You can finally buy it. It’s not shipping until March, but if you buy now you’ll receive a nice discount. Plus, you’ll be guaranteed to actually receive a DVD because any pre-sales really help me in forecasting production. Go here to buy it if you’re a U.S. customer; here if you’re not.
  • TILT-related merchandise. It sounds like a joke, but it’s not: there’s a nice poster you can buy if you’re into that sort of thing. Action figures to premiere later in 2007, along with announcement of the TILT musical I plan on taking on the road in early 2008.
  • A new clip from the film. Click here to see both the new trailer (not much changed except for the music and the new titles), and a scene from the film talking about the design of Revenge From Mars. Worth checking out if you’re interested in the film.
One thought on “Tilt

  1. Greg, I saw the film at the Clinton Street Theater in Portland in 2006. I have to say I like the original title, but maybe the new one will grow on me too. Are there any DVD’s and posters with the original title available? Since seeing the film, I’ve bought three machines off craigslist, been to the Pinball Hall of Fame in Las Vegas, and I take every chance I can get to play any pinball machines anywhere I run into them. I’m trying to do my part to keep the nostalgia alive, and pass on the tradition to my kids. It’s amazing how many of my 8 year old daughter’s friends have never seen or played pinball before; it’s so low-tech compared to their playstations and wiis, but the kids will play for hours. Also amazing is how the grandparents are reliving their youth when they play our machines. The movie really captured the essence of pinball for me, and I was captivated by the story of the industry’s decline as much as the people behind the machines. Nice work!

    Action figures AND a musical? I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

